The 2024 Boston Marathon took place on April 15 with thousands of viewers eager to see the results and cheer the runners on. The route is 26.2 miles, ending on Boylston Street. It was a sunny Monday, with temperatures reaching up to 73 degrees Fahrenheit, resulting in approximately nine percent of runners stopping at a medical tent. Despite the warm weather, there were many strong performances.

The first woman to cross the finish line, was Kenya’s Hellen Obiri, who had won the race in 2023. With a finishing time of two hours, 22 minutes and 37 seconds, Obiri won her second Boston Marathon in a row, putting her in an elite category of runners. The last woman to win consecutive Boston Marathons was Catherine Ndereba, winning in  2004 and 2005. Obiri commented on her accomplishment with pride by saying, “I’m now in the history books in Boston.” With this win, as well as one in the New York City Marathon in November, Obiri is in a great position leading up to the 2024 Olympics in Paris, France. 

Sharon Lokedi ran closely with Obiri in the last few miles before Obiri pulled ahead. Lokedi took second, crossing the finish line just eight seconds after Obiri at two hours, 22 minutes and 45 seconds. Next up was Edna Kiplagat at two hours, 23 minutes and 21 seconds. These three winners were from Kenya.

Buze Diriba and Senbere Teferi — both from Ethiopia — finished in two hours, 24 minutes and four seconds, taking fourth and fifth place. The first American to cross the line was Emma Bates from Minnesota. She finished with a time of two hours, 27 minutes and 14 seconds. 

In the men’s race, Sisay Lemma won  first with a time of two hours, six minutes and 17 seconds. In 2022, Lemma wasn’t able to finish the race, but made history this year by finishing with the 10th fastest time in the marathon’s history. Although his past personal best was in 2019 when he finished in 30th place, he took an early lead and maintained his position throughout the majority of the race. 

Finishing in second place with a time of two hours, six minutes and 58 seconds was Mohamed Esa from Ethiopia. Last year's winner, Evans Chebet, took third with a time of two hours, seven minutes and 22 seconds. John Korir and Albert Korir took fourth and fifth respectively, seven seconds apart at two hours, seven minutes and 40 seconds and two hours, seven minutes and 47 seconds. C.J. Albertson was the first American to finish with a time of two hours, nine minutes and 53 seconds. 

In the women’s wheelchair race, Eden Rainbow-Cooper took first place with a time of one hour, 35 minutes and 11 seconds. At the age of 22, Rainbow-Cooper’s first time victory marked the first time a woman from Great Britain 

won the women’s wheelchair race.

Manuela Schar took second place with a time of one hour, 36 minutes and 41 seconds. At one hour, 39 minutes and 20 seconds, Madison De Razio was third. Patricia Eachus crossed the line at one hour, 40 minutes and 22 seconds — taking fourth place — and Aline Dos Santos Rocha came in fifth with a time of one hour, 41 minutes and 47 seconds. Michelle Wheeler was the first American to finish with a time of one hour, 45 minutes and 59 seconds. 

The men’s wheelchair race was won by Marcel Hug, who broke his course record. Nicknamed “The Silver Bullet,” he finished with a time of one hour, 15 minutes and 33 seconds. Although he had a small crash on Commonwealth Avenue, he still was able to shave around two minutes from his previous year’s time. 

Second place was taken by American Daniel Romanchuk at a time of one hour, 20 minutes and 37 seconds. David Weir came in third with a time of one hour, 22 minutes and 12 seconds. Fourth and Fifth place were taken by Sho Wantanabe and Josua Cassidy respectively with times of one hour, 26 minutes and 10 seconds and one hour, 30 minutes and 31 seconds.     

As an annual tradition, the Boston Marathon consistently draws talented racers and runners. This year did not disappoint by putting on a good show and breaking records. 

– Editor’s note: The Justice Editor in Chief Anna Martin '26 is employed by Boston Properties, Sponsor of the Boston Marathon, and did not contribute to this article.