On April 26, University President Ron Liebowitz sent an email to the Brandeis community reporting on highlights from the April Board of Trustees meeting. 

First, it was announced that Lisa Kranc ’75 and Dan Rueven ’09 were both elected to the Board. A proposal was accepted regarding the budget to construct Science Phase 2A, which would “replace inadequate chemistry research space with facilities that will enable teaching and research in applied science and emerging areas of collaboration, such as chemical biology, biological data science, and the study of active matter,” as stated in the Framework for the Future final report. The project will be funded by up to $150 million in tax-exempt debt, and construction is set to begin in 2024. “This vote marks a formative step toward realizing Brandeis’ vision for investing in the physical infrastructure that supports the quality of the university’s interdisciplinary research in the sciences,” the email states. 

President Liebowitz offered the Board an update on the progress of the series of conversations on “contemporizing Brandeis’ Jewish identity and founding values.” Additionally, the launch of Brandeis’ Initiative Against Antisemitism was brought up while discussing the University’s commitment to strengthening the Jewish values Brandeis was founded on. 

Liebowitz emphasized the importance of fostering and strengthening the relationship between Brandeis and the greater Waltham community. One way in which this will be executed is via the celebration for the 75th anniversary of Brandeis’ founding, which will take place during the 2023-2024 academic year. “The celebration, still in its planning stages, will include a variety of communications, events, activities, seminars, and installations that will engage all members of the Brandeis community, including alumni, faculty, staff, students, parents and friends, and members of the Waltham community,” according to Liebowitz.

Another topic discussed was continuing student and faculty representation and contributions to the Board. Bylaw amendments that will ensure this continuation of participation were approved by the Board. The presence of faculty and students within the Board is important because it “enhance[s] communication between stakeholders and maximize[s] effectiveness of Board decision-making,” the email said. 

Finally, eight professors were granted tenure: Profs. Charles Golden (ANTH), Alice Hsiaw (BUS), Alexander Kaye (NEJS), Jean-Paul L’Huillier (ECON), Siri Suh (SOC), Benjamin R. Shiller (ECON), Brian Swingle (PHYS), and Ilana Szobel (NEJS). 

The Academy Committee; Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee; Institutional Advancement Committee; Nominating and Governance Committee; Resources Committee; Risk Management and Audit Committee; and the Student Life Committee all met respectively and discussed their own relevant matters.

Liebowitz concluded the email with words of gratitude for the Board. “These meetings provide us with the opportunity to benefit from the trustees’ collective expertise, wisdom, and stewardship of Brandeis, and I am pleased to be able to continue to rely on their guidance,” he wrote.