After four days of waiting on votes, particularly mail-in ballots, former Vice President Joseph R. Biden Jr. won the presidential election. He will serve as the 46th President of the United States.

As of Monday, Nov. 9, Biden had 279 electoral votes. Trump had 214 electoral votes. Alaska, Arizona and North Carolina are the only remaining states that have not been called, according to the Washington Post

On Saturday, Nov. 7, Biden addressed the nation, along with Vice President-elect Kamala Harris, in his first public remarks as president-elect. In his speech to a drive-in audience in Wilmington, Delaware, Biden called for unity and an end to the divisions and conflict that defined the Donald Trump presidency, according to an article from the New York Times. “Let this grim era of demonization in America begin to end here and now,” he said.

Trump has, as of Nov. 9, refused to concede the election and admit his defeat as legitimate, arguing that, “I had such a big lead in all of these states late into election night, only to see the leads miraculously disappear as the days went by. Perhaps these leads will return as our legal proceedings move forward!” per a Nov. 6 tweet. Experts predict, however, that this refusal may not cause too much disruption, according to a Nov. 9 article in the Guardian. The real trouble, they anticipate, may arise if Trump pushes “divisive politics” during his final months in office. 

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-KY, supported Trump’s refusal to concede in a Nov. 9 Senate speech, according to a Nov. 9 New York Times article. McConnell did not recognize Biden’s victory.  

Although ballots are still being counted, voter turnout for the 2020 presidential election is projected to be 66.5% of the eligible voting population, 6.4% higher than the turnout for the 2016 presidential election, according to the Washington Post.